top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Branstetter

Everyone's Favorite Butter Rolls




I am going to share my personal yeast butter roll recipe that EVERYONE loves. I'm not just pretending here, this bread is loved by everyone who has ever eaten it. If you like steakhouse yeast rolls or butter rolls, then you will really love these! I let my machine do all the work on the dough and I spend my time shaping and rising it.

You will need: 

  • 7 oz. Milk

  • 1/4 cup warm water

  • 1/4 cup softened butter

  • 1 egg, slightly beaten

  • 2 tablespoons of honey

  • 3 1/4 cup of bread flour

  • 3 tablespoons of granulated sugar

  • 1 packet of high rising yeast (2 oz.)

Instructions:

1. Make sure all ingredients are at room temperature. The bread comes out so much better.

2. Add ingredients to the bread machine in the order they are listed above.

3. For the first few minutes keep an eye on it to be sure some of the ingredients don't end up trapped in the corners of the bread machine carrier. If they do, simply scrap down the sides so everything is kneaded together well.

NO BREAD MACHINE?  If you don't have a bread machine, mix the yeast and the warm water together in a separate dish to dissolve and bloom the yeast and then add all the ingredients together. (Bloomed yeast is dissolved and activated yeast.) After mixing everything together well, place in an oiled glass dish and cover to rise for 40-45 minutes.

5. Remove dough from machine/bowl onto a well greased counter top. Use well greased hands to lightly knead the dough one last time as you form it to bake.

FORMING THE DOUGH  

  • I have made two small long baguette shaped loaves with this recipe before by dividing it in half and shaping and allowing them to rise separately on a cookie sheet.

  • I have divided sections by half until reaching 12 or even 24 equal sized pieces and then rolled them and placed them in a buttered glass dish to bake as rolls. 12 rolls in a 13x9 inch buttered dish is my favorite way to form them, as seen in the picture above.

  • I have rounded the entire dough ball and allowed it to rise on a greased cookie sheet and made one large round loaf.

  • I have shaped rolls and put them in cupcake tins and snipped the tops with scissors to make clover top muffin shaped rolls.

SEE PHOTOS BELOW FOR EXAMPLES

6. Bake at 350 for 22-27 minutes. Keep an eye on it and take it out when it is lightly browned. You can brush honey butter over it when you take it out or before you bake it for a nice shiny light brown look and extra sweetness. You can also glaze with egg glaze if preferred. (Egg glaze: mix together 1 egg & 1 tbsp milk or water)

Once fully cooled, you can store in an air tight container for up to a week.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Seven "I Am" Statements of Jesus.

I hope this blesses you. I will be preaching on this more later in the month. In the Gospel of John, Jesus makes 7 "I Am" statements. They are a powerful reminder to us that He is God and we are not

bottom of page