top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Branstetter

Saving Man's Best Friend


One summer, when I was 5 years old living in Hepzibah, Ga., we had a stray dog take up on our front step. In a hurry to get to work, my mother would fall over the dog on her way out the door every morning. One particular morning it made her angry and she blurted out, "I'm going to call the pound on you!!" Well, I was old enough to know that the dog catcher would put this poor dog to sleep and I felt so sorry for him. I was an "Orphan Annie" fan back then. I knew what would happen!! I thought about it most of the day until my father had dozed off in his Lazyboy recliner and out the front door I went with a leash and this stray dog. I decided to sell him to a family that wanted him. I did mention I was 5 years old? After several hours, and about 4 miles away from the house, I finally found a little girl that wanted to buy 'my' dog. I had started at $1.50 but after 4 miles and many closed doors I was down to .05 cents. I was just about to give that dog away for free, but I was trying to earn something for a day's work. The little girl ran into the house to get her nickle and I can't help but laugh remembering that her dad was asleep in his Lazyboy recliner too. He was in for a surprise when he woke up as well! So I started home when a police car pulled up and said my name. He put me in the back of the police car....behind the bars....IT WAS AWESOME!!! But when we turned down my street the whole neighborhood was outside looking for me. I mean everyone! It looked like some kind of community festival with people meandering around. And there was my mother, red faced and ruined! And my dad was in trouble too. He didn't say a word, but the spanking said it all. I never wandered down the street again! I really don't remember the spanking, but I remember my mother's tear soaked face at the foot of my bed crying while she told me I nearly broke her heart forever. I didn't mean to make her cry, I just couldn't stand the thought of this poor orphaned pup being put to sleep because no one wanted him. Later I showed them the nickel I earned selling the old dog and for that they continue to laugh. Thank God I hadn't been picked up by a stranger. We lived in a terrible neighborhood for child abductions, which probably explains why all the neighbors were out looking for me. But looking back now the whole thing is rather funny, especially when I see the antics of my own girls. I know where they get it from...

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Looking to What Lies Ahead

An extensive study in the U.S. recently found that the most productive age in human life is between 60-70 years of age. The second most productive stage of the human being is from 70-80 years of age.

Beautiful Storm

I don't like the destruction that comes from hurricanes, of coarse, but they have always been exciting to me even as a small child. When a storm is approaching and it turns cloudy and windy, I just wa

bottom of page