top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Branstetter

Someone Else's Mess


Oh my goodness! How many times is the magic number that I remind my children that a mess doesn't have to be their doing for them to clean it up, especially when they have been told to clean it up? Establishing routines and habits can be difficult but sometimes it seems like they may never take. :) The scenario is always the same. I tell one of them to pick something up or clean something specific and their response is, "Well so and so did it, that's not mine..." Really though, I am grateful to have such wonderful children so I won't complain, but I couldn't help but think, "Is this something we do as adults and not realize it?" How many times do we see something that needs doing and immediately take on an attitude of, "So and so should be doing this, not me..." And as usual, the Lord jumps into my thoughts and says, "Aren't you glad I was so willing to fix your mess? I didn't even complain about it, and trust me, it required all of me." Maybe that is how I should teach them. Instead of saying, "Because I said so..." or "I pick up your messes..." I should remind them that Jesus took our worst mess on Himself and we want to be more like Him and less like us. "Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving." Colossians 3:23-24

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Looking to What Lies Ahead

An extensive study in the U.S. recently found that the most productive age in human life is between 60-70 years of age. The second most productive stage of the human being is from 70-80 years of age.

bottom of page